Love and Roses

Roses and love go together so well! Especially this rosebush. For Valentines, my husband orders me flowers I can plant and have year after year. It’s a two time gift: Valentines Day when I get to look at the order inventory and when the plants finally get mailed for planting.

This rosebush was given to me last year and we were very excited to plant it at our new home. Not long after it had gotten established, one of our kind neighbors mowed our lawn for us. It was dusk, and the bush hadn’t grown yet, and we still hadn’t put up the little guards that we wanted to. You can imagine what happened. The rosebush got mowed.

Roses and love go together so well! Especially this rosebush. For Valentines, my husband orders me flowers I can plant and have year after year. It’s a two time gift: Valentines Day when I get to look at the order inventory and when the plants finally get mailed for planting.This rosebush was given to me last year and we were very excited to plant it at our new home. Not long after it had gotten established, one of our kind neighbors mowed our lawn for us. It was dusk, and the bush hadn’t grown yet, and we still hadn’t put up the little guards that we wanted to. You can imagine what happened. The rosebush got mowed.Miraculously, it didn’t get completely destroyed and went on to bloom last year. Last year’s rose is my current Twitter cover photo. The persistent bush went on to produce one more rose before the season came to a close. This year, we have several beautiful blooms already and many more buds waiting to open!It turned out that severe pruning didn’t do it much harm after all! I think it is can be that way in love too. Robbie and I have had some difficult times in our few years of marriage,  and while the pruning wasn’t pleasant, it’s exciting to see how much fuller our marriage is because we’ve gone through that. Our love has always produced roses, but they are more plentiful, beautiful, and precious to us now than they were before. I’m looking forward to the growth of our marriage and our rose bush over this next year!

Miraculously, it didn’t get completely destroyed and went on to bloom last year. Last year’s rose is my current Twitter cover photo. The persistent bush went on to produce one more rose before the season came to a close. This year, we have several beautiful blooms already and many more buds waiting to open!

It turned out that severe pruning didn’t do it much harm after all! I think it is can be that way in love too. Robbie and I have had some difficult times in our few years of marriage,  and while the pruning wasn’t pleasant, it’s exciting to see how much fuller our marriage is because we’ve gone through that. Our love has always produced roses, but they are more plentiful, beautiful, and precious to us now than they were before.

I’m looking forward to the growth of our marriage and our rose bush over this next year!

Leave a Reply

