Why I take writing seriously

I have a mild case of dyslexia. Words were not my friends growing up. That moment when I had overcome my fear of even trying to read – around the age of eleven – was a sweet victory. With around three sentences per page, David Adler’s Picture Book Biographies were the key to getting me to read, and I am forever thankful to him for writing them and for my mother in buying them for me.

For some reason, despite all the tears I shed over trying to learn how to read and write, I had dreams of becoming a published author at a young age. I think that was mostly because my older sister, Anna, also had a dream of becoming a published author, and, for a time, I wanted to be exactly like her. Whatever the reason, I wrote my first novel at the age of 12 with the help of my best friend. A train wreak, the first draft of the novel was finished at over 200 pages. For a middle school girl who had just begun to read books geared for elementary children finishing a whole novel was the greatest thing ever, and I was immensely proud of my accomplishment.

I tinkered with writing off and on since then but stopped taking it seriously until college. I had creative writing assignments for both Acting 1 and Plays: Classical to Contemporary. A monologue and a One Act play wet my appetite for the power of words. I learned how I could wrestle with pains and declare joys in my writing. I’ve written more about how writing has been used by God to bring me healing here. When I was younger I created stories and characters that I acted out by myself as a way to escape. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve taken those same stories, refined and polished them, and have written them down as a way of dealing with issues and memorializing triumphs that can be shared with others.

SharonThat’s why I take writing seriously – because it allows me to process life in a way that can encourage others. I am a very new writer. I’m working on querying my first real completed novel, Chrysalis, and getting ready to tackle my next novel, along with plays that I am revising and developing for writing. I don’t know what God is going to do with all this writing, but I believe He wants me to keep growing in my ability to craft words for both the stage and the page for His glory and His purpose. Don’t know what they are yet, but even if it is just to aid my own journey – it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

