Lake George

It’s been a long time since I’ve done an #ArtWednesday, but it wasn’t because I wasn’t drawing. The last three months of 2015 I dedicated to working on Christmas presents for my in-laws. Now that they are handed out I can display them!

Each got a drawing of something from Rodgers Rock Club at Lake George where the families have lake homes. Lake George is one of my favorite places to go, and I am very thankful for the time that I have been able to spend in that place. It makes me think of heaven, every summer.

Before I show the three Christmas presents, here is an older drawing from Lake George.

IMG_0921
Sailboat. India Ink Marker and India Ink. 2012.

This drawing was from a picture I took the very first summer I stayed at Maple Cottage, the name of the families lake house. My husband and I had recently gotten engaged and we went to spend time with his family and to undergo “the lake test”. Fortunately I passed.

IMG_0938
Courtside. India Ink. 2015.
IMG_0939
Forte. India Ink. 2015.
IMG_0942
Maple. India Ink. 2015.

Each of them were challenging drawings for me. I don’t do architectural pieces very often and perspective is not a strength. “Forte” was the first animal portrait I had done. Each of them have little mistakes in them and are more “stylized” then usual, but I had a wonderful time creating them and learned a lot. I was very grateful to be able to finish them in time. I also got to frame them myself! Lots of learning going on in these drawing and lots of fond memories.

One thought on “Lake George

Leave a Reply

