Under Construction

It’s been a while. Part of that has been because of having a production, rehearsals, and needing to work on the adaptation for Peter Pan, but part of it has been thanks to Michael Hyatt. If you haven’t checked out his blog, do so. He has lots of really valuable information on how to be an effective leader, efficient worker, and powerful communicator.

For all that I love and appreciate his writing, I confess it’s been tripping me up. I think in the long run it will be good, but in the moment it has caused me to slow down and re-evaluate my blog and website both for my personal use and for my theatre.

He has a lot to say about building a platform, all useful stuff, especially for us aspiring writers. Reading it makes me want to redo everything and refocus. But it’s hard to know what on. These are the questions that I’ve been mulling over my head:

1) Can I focus on building a platform for both my hired job (the theatre) and my hobby job (writer, artist) or do I need to just do one and let the other be for the time, or maybe permanently?

2) How do I figure out what I should focus most on in building the platform, especially blog posts? For instance, on my personal site, I waffle back and forth between writing about personal struggles, to writing, to art, to whatever I feel like.

Michael Hyatt suggests niching yourself as tightly as possible so that your message is clear and devoid of muddiness. I love doing posts about all three of those main topics – struggles of faith, writing, and art.

How do I choose? Should I maybe separate blogs for each topic? (That’s an unlikely one…given how it’s hard for me to get one post in a week as it is!)

3) Am I really communicating anything of value to others?

4) If so, what is it? What is the most valuable content I’ve offered?

Michael suggests doing a reader survey, but with how few readers I have, I don’t know if that would even work.

5) Should I keep trying?

I don’t have answers to all or any of these yet. I have ideas. But life right now is so consumed by theatre that I don’t have much time to sit down and flesh them out. I am hoping for some time over the summer while I am traveling. Michael has a book called “Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World” that I want to read, and also a class you can take called Platform University that I want to try…but too busy right now. Maybe in the fall.

What about you, my friends who try to get a platform? What are you struggling with right now? Or how are you succeeding?construction

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Under Construction

Leave a Reply

