Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Color of Your Skin

Last week my sister and I got to go see “Hidden Figures”. This post is a good follow up to seeing the film to remind me to keep working towards reconciliation. If you haven’t seen “Hidden Figures” yet, get some tickets. It’s a great way to celebrate the beauty of diversity. In the meantime, here are beautiful thoughts from Tim Fall.

Tim's Blog - Just One Train Wreck After Another

[Archived post, updated.]

It has been more than 50 years since the March on Washington where Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., gave his speech with the famous repeating line “I Have a Dream.”

I was only three years old in 1963, so a personal memory is beyond me. But I remember the Civil Rights Movement that continued to unfold in the ’60s and ’70s. Voting rights, affirmative action, the unequal drafting of blacks into the military at the height of the Vietnam War, the Equal Rights Amendment. I remember all of these from the news, in the lives of families around me, and from the protests that often appeared on the street as we’d drive into San Francisco. You see lots of interesting things when you grow up fifteen minutes from the Haight-Ashbury District.

One thing I saw repeatedly in the High School I attended was people…

View original post 579 more words

2 thoughts on “Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Color of Your Skin

  1. Thanks for giving my post space here at your blog, Sharon.

    P.S. Judy Douglass wrote a review of Hidden Figures as a guest post for my blog. It’s going up next Monday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

