Longing for Narnia

The other week I had a deep longing for Narnia, and more importantly, for Aslan. C.S. Lewis created an amazing world and unforgettable characters. The lion, Aslan, has helped me grow in my understanding of Jesus. There are many times when I will repeat the words of Mr. Beaver, “Safe? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good.”

Or when Shasta (Cor) asks Aslan why he scratched Aravis’s back, and Aslan doesn’t tell him the reason because it is not his story.

And many other things.

I’m planning to revisit those books soon, in my preferred order of publication, but I couldn’t wait to be in Narnia, so last week I drew it, spending twelve hours in that beautiful place.

 

unnamed
“A Visit to Narnia”. India Ink and India Ink Marker. 2017.

My visit to Narnia was one of the highlights of my year so far. I love how art, be it literary or visual, can transport you to other places.

 

4 thoughts on “Longing for Narnia

Leave a Reply

